Kansas Modifies Statute to Allow Direct Wine Shipping
Effective July 1, 2009, Kansas residents may legally receive direct wine shipment to their homes. Senate Bill 212 allows wineries licensed by the state to ship up to a dozen cases of wine for personal use per address per year. Among other provisions, wineries are required to pay a $50 licensing fee ($10 per annual renewal), collect and remit sales and excise taxes and use an age verification system to prior to shipping orders.
Since the US Supreme Court ruled on direct shipping in May 2005, 36 states have legalized direct wine shipments to consumers. Consumption in the 36 states allowing direct wine shipments comprised 81% of wine consumption in 2007, according to the Adams Wine Handbook.